Ulla Preeden

Ulla Preeden is a rector of Tartu Health Care College in Estonia since 2016 and she is a member of Estonian Rectors’ Conference of Universities of Applied Sciences. Previously she has worked as the county governor of Põlva and as a research fellow at Tartu University. 

She is a graduate of the Tartu University and in 2009 defended her doctorate in the field of geology and geophysics.

Gudrun Paulsdottir

Gudrun Paulsdottir is an internal expert in higher education. She has held many positions in various higher education organisations, including at Stockholm University in Sweden. She has also been a Senior Consultant with iE&D Solutions in the Netherlands. She has previously held the following positions in the higher education sector in Sweden; International Strategist at University Board, Director of Student Affairs, Director of International Office and Head of Admission, Degrees and International Office. She held the position as President and Vice-President of the EAIE, The European Association for International Education for two years each and is currently the Immediate Past President. Her area of expertise is international strategies and integration of internationalisation into university activities, internationalisation of higher education, university management, international project management and intercultural communication. She serves as an international expert in matters related higher education and internationalisation for among others, the European Commission as well as the Nordic Council.

Dr. Ariane Theis

Ariane Theis obtained her PhD in American Studies at Dortmund University of Technology in 2011 where she taught in the field of American literary and cultural studies and was very involved in transatlantic student exchange. 

In 2016, she joined the team of the International Office at Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University Heilbronn. Since June 2017, she has been the director of the International Office at this university.

Her interests include among others international higher education as well as worldwide student exchange.

Richard Thorn

Richard is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin (Bachelor degree in Natural Sciences in 1978 and a PhD in 1983) and the Institute of Public Administration (MA in Public Management, 2001).  He has published over 200 articles in areas as diverse as earth and environmental sciences, management and strategy, higher education policy and planning and travel. He has been variously President of the Institute of Technology, Sligo, Head of Department of Environmental Sciences in IT Sligo, the first Head of the Castlebar Campus of Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology and, recently, was Project Manager for the first stage of the implementation of Ireland’s Higher Education Strategy to 2030.  He has chaired or been on the board of many not-for profit organisations and is a past President (2012-2014) and past National Diving Officer (2008) of the Irish Underwater Council – the national governing body for underwater sports, including scuba diving – in Ireland. He is a member of the five person State Examinations Commission which oversees all state examinations in Ireland.  He is currently working on a biography of Ireland’s Regional Technical Colleges, the forerunners to the Institutes of Technology, to be published by the Institute of Public Administration.

Lars Lynge Nielsen

Born 1948, Copenhagen, Denmark. Holds an MA in Psychology from the University of Copenhagen. Lars Lynge Nielsen joined EURASHE in 1998. Previously he held a number of senior positions in the higher education sector. He was a Professional Consultant at the Danish Ministry of Education, Head of Offices in the Danish Refugee Council and in the UNHCR, Rector at Funen National College for Social Education since 1995. In 2002 Lars was nominated as Denmark’s National Representative in EURASHE Executive Council and in May 2004 was elected Vice President of EURASHE. In October 2006 he was approved as Acting President of EURASHE by the Executive Council. In April 2007 Mr Nielsen was elected President of EURASHE, a post he held until 2011.

Lars Lynge Nielsen (Denmark), 8th President of EURASHE (2006 – 2011)