University of Deusto

The University of Deusto fi rst opened its doors in 1886. Its birth was the result of the combined concerns and cultural interests of the Basque Country, which wished to have a university of its own, and of the Jesuit Fathers, who wanted to move their school of higher studies from La Guardia (Pontevedra) to a more central location. The chosen site was Bilbao, a bustling seaport and commercial city that at the time was enjoying considerable industrial growth.Today the University of Deusto has two campuses located in the Basque Country?s major coastal cities: Bilbao and San Sebastian.

Further contacts: