European University Cyprus (EUC)

Ευρωπαϊκό Πανεπιστήμιο Κύπρου (ΕΠΚ)

European University Cyprus, which is part of the largest international university organization, Laureate International Universities, developed out of Cyprus College, which was founded in 1961 by Ioannis Gregoriou. A major development in the College’s history took place in 2000, when programs of study leading to Diploma, Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees were accredited by the Accreditation Council (SEKAP) of the Republic of Cyprus. On 12 September 2007, the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Cyprus rendered a decision for the establishment and operation of European University Cyprus, and licensed it to start its operation as of 1 October 2007. There are five Schools, namely, the School of Arts and Education Sciences, the School of Business Administration, the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, the School of Science and the School of Medicine. All first – second – and third-cycle programs of study offered by European University Cyprus are recognized nationally and internationally. The Distance Education Unit offers programs leading to Master degrees and other specialization courses. The purpose of the Distance Education Unit is to offer access to education and knowledge to all people who cannot attend the face-to-face programs due to personal, professional and/or geographical reasons. In this way, the Distance Education Unit responds to the current and growing needs of the today’s society for learning, through alternative education programs and it promotes the equal opportunity in education. The purposes and objectives of the University are as follows: The advancement of science, knowledge, learning and education, through teaching and research for the benefit of society in general; The cultivation, dissemination, application and interdisciplinary exchange of knowledge; and The provision of high quality undergraduate and/or postgraduate education, which should have international recognition.