Baden-Wuerttemberg Cooperative State University (DHBW)

The Cooperative State University Baden-Wuerttemberg (DHBW) is the largest university in Baden-Wuerttemberg with currently 34,000 students, over 9,000 partner companies and over 160,000 alumni. It is the first higher education institution in Germany which combines on-the-job training and academic studies and therefore achieves a close integration of theory and practice, both being components of cooperative education.

The university’s official seat is in Stuttgart. Based on the US State University System, the organizational structure of DHBW is unique in Germany for it comprises both the central (DHBW headquarters) and the local level (DHBW locations and campuses). Throughout its nine locations and three campuses, the university offers a broad range of undergraduate study programmes in the field of business, engineering, and social work. All degree programmes are both nationally and internationally accredited, count as intensive study programmes and are worth 210 ECTS credits. In addition, DHBW offers postgraduate degree programmes with integrated on-the-job training.

At the Heilbronn site there are currently about 1,300 students studying in business administration: commerce, service management, or food management. The modern “Bildungscampus” – education campus – in the center of the city of Heilbronn is excellently equipped with lecture rooms and laboratories offers.